Memoirs of the Innocent

Anxiety Sits in my Shoulders

memories-1

 

This is how my anxiety feels like. It’s always shortness of breath, it’s always that sinking feeling. It feels like anytime, the world would go dark and I won’t be able to see light again.

It manifests differently with each individual and it is triggered differently too. Mine is when I’m at a crowded place. My friends used to laugh at me about it, but they finally realized I was serious. I just can’t be in crowded places. I literally have to take one of my fingers close to my nose, just to assure myself, that I am indeed breathing. It’s not easy, but I make the best of it.

I’m still lucky, I consider mine as mild, very mild in fact. And I am taking steps to overcome it, someday, I’ll fight it off.

It’s an invisible monster that sits in my shoulders, bidding its time to whisper fear in my ears. I won’t let it win and to those who suffer the same thing, don’t let it win too.

Photo Credit
6 thoughts on “Anxiety Sits in my Shoulders

    1. Hey Aria, thanks for the advice. I never actually thought of it that way. I always felt like it’s an enemy waiting to jump at me in a dark corner, but thinking of it as a “friend” might actually help. 🙂

      Thank you, really!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

