Memoirs of the Innocent · Uncategorized

The Pensieve: A Fandom

No, it’s not a misspell. It’s another word that sounds exactly like Pensive and are in the same line of the word’s meaning but exist in a fictional world.

In the Harry Potter world, a Pensieve is an object used to review memories. A magical person can place his/her memories in the Pensieve and watch the event of the said memory as it unfold much like watching a movie.

Interestingly, I am listening to Harry Potter now. It is my first experience with audio books, and I must say, it truly is a different kind of journey. I’ve always had my doubts with audio books, but it’s a different medium than books and therefore, should not be compared with each other – at least, that’s what I’ve realized.

I am now on my 5th book, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, which happens to be my favorite book of the series. It was mainly because  of the length, the Order is the longest books among the series, it seemed like it would never end. So I was such a happy girl!

hp-pensieve.jpg

The Pensieve is a basin-like object with ancient runes written all over – probably a spell to make it work. A witch or wizard can then store their memories in the Pensieve and review it. Imagine, if there were Pensieve in real life! No memories would be lost! I will always replay that part when my crush smiled at me *giggles* But seriously, having a Pensieve would be amazing. No one can say “they don’t remember” saying something anymore.

So now you know that I am a huge, huge, huge fan of Harry Potter! I have re-read the books for many summers and now, I’m trying my hand in the audio books. I don’t think I will actually ever get over my Harry Potter fandom, it’s just one of those things I can’t let go. Much like an old memory or an old song.

 

Daily Prompt: Pensive

Leave a Reply

