Memoirs of the Innocent

I’ve Never Been Drunk

I’ve never been drunk. I’ve been tipsy and loose but never drunk to the point of having no control of what I’m doing or saying. I’ve never vomited or had episodes of black out. Alcohol has always been a touchy subject for me for personal reasons.

I’m writing this after five glasses of champagne. I’ve never been much of a drinker, but sometimes, you just get the urge to let loose and drink some bubbly! And yet, as an ambivert who loves meaningful conversations, drinking is so much more fulfilling when you’re with someone you can talk to about anything. From politics to personal and deep “stuff.”

Drinking buddies are as important as the choice of drink. You need to be with people that fills your soul while your body physically tries its best to process the alcohol that goes through you. And this is how I see “drinking,” it’s not a “thing to do for fun,” it’s a place for self-discovery. When you loosen up, so does your mind, and you talk things you never thought you’d talk about. Suddenly, you find yourself “exploring.”

Who knows, you might find answers in these intoxicated meanderings.

But that’s me, and I’m a bit tipsy already so don’t take my word for it.

4 thoughts on “I’ve Never Been Drunk

Leave a Reply

