Memoirs of the Innocent · Note to Self

Surrender to the Universe

When a door closes, a window opens.

If things are meant to happen, it will happen. The universe has a way of leading people to their dreams. Missed opportunities are just a way of letting us know that there are other options that might be better for us. A lot of us may think we know where we’re supposed to go but a lot of the time, we end up somewhere else.

One of my favorite quotes is from Calvin and Hobbes and it says,

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I ended up where I needed to be.

This quote is very powerful to me because I always find myself in a position where I take a step back and actually look at where I am in my life. I would often think back to the times when I said that I should be married by 25 or that I should be successful in my career at 25 and other thoughts that I had when I was 15.

And this quote always keeps things in balance, because it is my reminder that there are things in store for me. I may not know what those things are and I don’t necessarily need it at the moment, but when it reveals itself, I know it’ll be  a great experience.

I never saw myself living in Abu Dhabi – where I don’t speak the language and the culture is oceans apart. Yet, here I am and I am loving the experience. It’s not sunshine and flowers all the time but it is definitely a worthwhile experience.

I am looking forward to doors that closes on me because there might be a back window that opens for me. Where it has an unobstructed view of a beautiful garden or a backyard with an amazing swing set that I would have never known if I just looked straight at the door.

And, it’s gonna be rough on me or on you, when that door closes, but it’s all about attitude. Life is too short to dwell on things that we can’t change, the world doesn’t stop for us, it doesn’t even take the time to pity us, it moves on. And, so do we. We don’t stop, we just continue to chase whatever dreams we have and someday, we will find that window and we’ll understand why it never worked out on those doors.

Some of us are lucky enough to be able to be what they’ve always wanted to be, while the rest of us, find ourselves in a different place. When we finally get to our destination, it will be a moment of great epiphany, and you and me, we’ll find ourselves saying, “this is where I’ve always been meant to be.”

Let’s hold on and let the universe conspire to make us who we are supposed to be and remember:

Stars

 

 

This post was inspired by the Daily Prompt: Window

5 thoughts on “Surrender to the Universe

Leave a Reply

