Daily Prompt

The Sacrifice of the Seven Deadly Sins

I wrote this piece for the Daily Prompt Envy, but was unable to finish it due to falling ill. So I’m posting this here, it’s a rough draft but I’ve always like personifying inanimate subjects. The seven deadly sins, along with the seven virtues, have always been something of interest to me. I’ve always imagined them as siblings, the sins as brothers and the virtues as sisters. All of which are children of Time. This is my take on the seven brothers.

the7deadlysins

 

In a clearing, somewhere in a dark forest are seven men standing in a circle. A bonfire lights up the rather dark surrounding.

All the men had similar handsome features – wide piercing emerald eyes, thin straight nose, strong jaw line and all were freakishly tall. What set them apart is their different shade of hair color, each matching their long coats.

The man with copper hair steps out of the circle, closer to the bonfire. He place his right hand directly above the fire, while his left holds an ancient knife made from ivory, with carvings of unknown origins.

“I am Greed,” he said. “The father of desire and possession and of unnatural selfishness. I bear with me power and knowledge that brings forth destruction to mortals. I have walked this Earth as old as time, hear me Father and let me enter your realm.”

Drops of blood fell to the bonfire as Greed took the ivory knife and slashed his palm exactly where a faint scar can be seen. The fire hissed as it drank the blood of Greed.

He stepped back to his place as the man with chestnut hair stepped out of his. He also had a knife with him, in fact, all of them had, carved from the same ivory and marked by the same creator. Seven knives were created, one each for the men.

“I am Gluttony, the Father of excess and over-consumption, of innate abundance. I bring forth the power to want more, more than mortals can take. I have walked this Earth as old as time, hear me Father and let me enter your realm.”

He repeated his brother’s action, slashing his palm where a thin scar resides.
His chocolate brown hair swayed as a gust of wind pass by him.

“I am Envy, the Father of jealousy and spite. I will take what is yours for it is mine to take. I bring forth the power of hatred to mortals. I have walked this Earth as old as time, hear me Father and let me enter your realm.”

Envy’s fiery red hair shines as the fire dance on his blood.

“I am Sloth, the Father of laziness and manipulation. Despair is my child. I bring forth the power to know what is right but to do nothing about it and let wrong prevails. I have walked this Earth as old as time, hear me Father and let me enter your realm.”

Sloth had spiky chestnut hair; his coat of the same color was the dirtiest of them all, unwashed and unkempt.

“I am Lust,” the man with long silver gray hair said in a strangely singsong voice.

“I am the Father of pleasure and innate luxury. I use persuasion and deception to fulfill unnatural needs. I bring forth the power of imposition. I have walked this Earth as old as time, hear me Father and let enter your realm”

“I am Wrath, the Father of destruction and devastation. I bring forth the power of violence and malicious intent. I will destroy through anger with brute force. I have walked this Earth as old as time, hear me Father and let me enter your realm.” The man with dark hair said.

The man with platinum blond hair stepped up, his head high.

“I am Pride, the Father of confidence and ego. I seek attention and grandeur. I deserve to be the best and this is my gift to the mortals. I am the youngest and vilest of all. I corrupt and don’t repent. I have walked this Earth as old as time, hear me Father and let me enter your realm.”

When all the men said their piece, they each place their hand above the fire. There was no more blood, only a fresh scar. Together they said.

“Hear us Father, let us enter your realm. Banished by Time, cursed to walk the realm of mortals for eternity, hear us and open the door for us.”

They stood there for a few moments, waiting for something to happen. No sound was heard, nothing happened. Slowly, they put their hand down.

“Well, another year goes by in this realm,” said Lust.

“Our father is a jealous man, he will never let us back,” Greed said.

“Every year you say this, and yet every year you show your face to do the sacrifice,” Sloth barked back.

“Not only is our father jealous but prideful too, banishing his sons, too afraid of our power,” Pride said.

“Silence,” Greed said looking at Pride. “The sacrifice is done. We will meet once again, the same time, the same day.”

“It was nice catching up with all of you, but I must go now.” Wrath said, walking away from the crowd and disappearing into the woods.

Each of the brothers went their separate ways. They will meet once again to sacrifice their blood of immortality hoping to open the door that will lead them back to the world where they came from.

One thought on “The Sacrifice of the Seven Deadly Sins

Leave a Reply

