Poetry

In this serenity

The warm water kisses my skin
And bubble foam envelopes my nakedness
Here, where the water lies still
And my heart beats slow,
Lies the truth of my soul
For in this serenity,
I hear the lies I tell myself
Echoing in the depth of my mind
I listen to it and for a moment,
I let it take over me
The shame and the guilt crashes down
I shiver amidst the warm water
Insecurities are written all over me
I see them etched in my skin
Stamped like a letter never delivered
And unread by no one but the sender
I will not let it win, for in my heart
Painted like a piece of art are the words:
You are loved, always and forever.

Leave a Reply

